Riki Matsumoto

Name: Riki Matsumoto
Country: Japan
Gender: Male
Program: Teaching English

1. What did your average day look like?

Usually early mornings around 6 or 6:30 A.M. Breakfast at around 7 A.M. Well depending on which placement you’re at, but for my teaching placement, it was 6 periods of class a day 45 minutes a period. School usually finishes at around 3 P.M. to 4 P.M. The rest of the day is free. I usually spent it helping out with the cooking at the restaurant nearby or with some Nepali friends that i made. Depending on weather there was a power cut or not, i would sleep at around 9 P.M.

2. Other things I did on my placement.

I went on the Annapurna trek for 5 days, and it was worth it, such gorgeous mountains. I also went sightseeing with one of my Nepali friends on the back of a motorcycle. Generally this and that. Sorry for the vagueness.

3. What are some of the issues or challenges you faced?

The consistent power cuts, not enough reading material and spicy food if you’re not used to it; thankfully i was. Sometimes a little lonely if you’re the only volunteer at your placement.

4. Advice to next volunteer going to your placement?

Bring lots of entertainment that doesn’t require electricity, i.e books, cards (playing cards), etc. Tourch – head torch etc

A lot of candy to control the kids. Skittles were very effective.

Buff headband. Useful for the hot days and covering your mouth form the dust clouds. Do your Nepal Visa in your country before you come. There’s a massive line at the airport.

5. Would you volunteer at this placement again?

Yes, I would.

6. Would you volunteer at this organization again?

Sure, of course I would.

7. Suggestion or problem?

Not necessarily.