Chui Lee Wong

Name : Chui Lee Wong
Gender: Female
Country: Malasiya
Program: women empowerment and Teaching Karate to Girls for self Defense

1. What did your average day look like?
Everyday wake up at 5:30am, teaching Teakwondo class to the local kids. The class will take an hour to an hour and a half. Breakfast at 8am, then will start helping cook lunch around 9am-9:30am. After lunch is free time til my evening class at 5pm. During free time, Imight read my book, join the community women for sewing class or afternoon nap some times. Evening class(Teakwondo class) will starts from 5pm for an hour; Sometimes it ends at 7am depends on the kids interest or progress. I will help to cook dinner if they are not ready yet. After dinner, some bonding time with other volunteers & family member before we go to bed.

2. Other things I did on my placement.
There are days that I went out with other volunteers to shop for material (for school/ women society purpose). I did go for tea time with other volunteers as well and some other time I did my work out or try to do some yoga.

3. What are some of the issues or challenges you faced?
Basically I have not much issue/ challenge through out my volunteering, just some culture shocked, different level of living standard and lastly some serious bites from mosquitoes/ insects.

4. Advice to next volunteer going to your placement?
I would advice to be mentally & physically ready if its their first time and never been to any under develop country before to make the voluntary work more meaningful.

5. Would you volunteer at this placement again?
For Sure!

6. Would you volunteer at this organization again?
Why not!

7. Suggestion or problem?
Probably set a dearer expectation once the volunteer chose the program that are interested in & what will they gain from the voluntary work.

8. Please write a Journal-type entry of your whole experience now. It will be better roughly one full page.
It is the most memorable journey in my life. There excellent memory & of course some different moment that I have to overcome myself(mostly emotionally). I feel the culture, try to make myself do different things that I wouldn’t do back home, overcome fears, take the challenge & solve them. Most importantly enjoy life, be truthful to your, be who you are keep the heart beautiful & be happy, appreciate evening that’s given. Life is full of choices, if depend how each individual choose to live with and never said that me have not been given a choice, it might that those choices are not making you happy the most. Use your heart to feel Nepal, the people and culture.